Tags

, , , ,

I recently went to my 23 year High School Reunion.  It was the joint 25 year for those who left after 10th grade (as this was legal and acceptable back in my day) and the the 23 year for those who stayed on for 12th grade.

"Whatcha been up to these 20+ years?"

Some of the girls and I (far right)

It was a rather surreal evening of catching up with what looked like the lovely mums of all my old school buddies (I went to a girls school).  “Surreal, but nice.” to quote Hugh Grant and Julia Roberts from the movie “Notting Hill.”

Such evenings get one reflecting on life.  “What have you been doing all these years?”

What have I been doing?  WOW.  I have lived a lifetime, or three, and then some.  The question I need to ask is, “Just how much do you want to know about my life so far?”  I am more than willing to be very open and vulnerable as this is the only way I have found to combat much of the darkness I have survived.  Shed a little light on it, and the darkness will dissipate.

So as I venture out into the world of blogging, it may help you get a clearer understanding of me to know some of where I’ve been.  I can say that today, I am experiencing full, complete healing from my past illness.  Sure there are still traces that linger, but none of them control me anymore.  What a wonder that is!

Two decades ago, I began showing early signs of what became a long battle with the dark night and there was no Dark Knight around to save me, (always hope for Batman, although any of the Avengers would have been more than well received, also.)

My Thirtieth year saw me dubbed with a dubious title: “mixed-state, multi-cycling, Bipolar II with severe Anxiety.”  It is an evil darkness that pervades the very depths of the soul and reaches it’s destruction into the farthest corners of your life.  I lost everything to it, everything.

But, this is not a “woe is me” post.  I am now being blessed back in this part of my life, and I am requesting a doubly double portion of Blessings.  Oh, and I should probably also warn you, in case you didn’t already know, I am a Jesus Freak, too. No, I’m not Religious, at all!  I do have a very personal relationship though that I have no intention of shoving down anyone’s throat, because that would be gross and get my hands all sticky.

I’ll probably deal with that “religious” issue in a later post, but for now, I was Bipolar, I was a shattered person, I am now healed, and I am looking for ways to help get rid of the social stigma’s that come with “mental illness” and to encourage others that the light at the end of the tunnel may NOT be an oncoming train…

Keep in touch & see you in the World.

